We're Open! Call Now: (408) 479-5759 Make A Payment

Faq

Will my belongings be safe at cochrane?

We use the most technologically advanced security system available in the self-storage industry.  This system allows us to monitor all activity on site and even allows you to view your access history, get notified of alarms and access activity right from your smartphone.      

What size do I need?

First determine what items you will be storing.  Are you currently in a house or an apartment?  Are you storing seasonal decorations or grandma's antique furniture?  Once you have determined what items you are planning on storing we can assist you in selecting just the right size unit to suit your needs.

Cubic vs. Square footage

Cubic feet is the measurement generally used by the moving companies who load up and transport your property.  Square feet is the measurement commonly used in the self-service storage industry to denote a unit size.  Here is the basic formula.  A 10 x 10 storage unit has a 10' high ceiling, multiply the square footage by 10 feet high to come up with a total of 1,000 cubic feet.  

Do I have to sign a lease?

Yes, we do require a signed lease agreement. However, the lease is month-to-month for as long as you need the space. We do offer discounts for pre-payment of rent, which is refundable should your needs change (restrictions apply).   

When will my rent be due?

Rent is always due on the first of each month (prorated rent on first month depending on move in day).  Late penalties are assessed per the California Self Storage Facilities Act and lien laws.  

Have you had any problems on site?

We are happy to report that we have not had any break-ins or theft on site.  If you want to verify this, you can check with our local Police Department.  We work hard to make sure the facility is safe.  We participate in the Crime Watch program for storage facilities.  We also encourage our tenants to tell us if anything seems amiss.  

Do you have indoor and outdoor units?

Yes. We offer both indoor and outdoor storage units. Our facility is set apart from others because all units are on the ground floor, so you never have to climb stairs or find a way to the second floor

What are the laws regarding self storage?

We will explain the basics of the California law to you at the time of rental.  It basically comes down to paying your rent on time and there will never be a problem.  

Do I need insurance?

Yes! We require and highly recommend insurance to protect your stored property.  Our Protection Plan is added to all accounts unless a Declaration is provided prior to renting the storage unit.  We encourage all customers to contact your Homeowner's or Renter's agent to ensure that the private policy covers self-storage.

What if I don't pay my rent on time?

You may lose everything you have stored!  Always know the law.  Late fees and penalties may occur at the very least.  Self-storage does not generally fall under the same guidelines as renting an apartment.  Know your rights and responsibilities.  

When can I access my unit?

You may access your unit between the hours of 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM seven days per week, 365 days a year.  The office is closed on major Federal Holidays. We post the days prominently a month or so prior on our entrance gate.  

 

 

Write a review